Vijaygarh jyotish ray college

Affiliated Under University of Calcutta. Registered under 2f & 12B of UGC Act Under Graduate with Post Graduate Courses, Re-Accredited by NAAC (3rd Cycle) (Grade - A); Funded by RUSA; DBT-BOOST, Ranked in NIRF, AISHE

(ISO 9001:2015 Certified )



The department of Microbiology started its journey in 2000 offering undergraduate courses, both General & Honours. After successfully completing five years of its journey, in 2005, the department also introduced postgraduate curriculum. Now it has established itself as one of the best Microbiology departments under the affiliation of University of Calcutta (awarded a state level “Best Department” by the Microbiologists Society of India, session 2021- 2022). The laboratory is equipped with chemicals, instruments, needed for both the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. Five full time, five SACT faculty members and few internal and external Guest teachers are teaching both undergraduate and postgraduate students of the department. Most of the faculty members are actively engaged in research with completed and ongoing research projects funded by government agencies like UGC, DST, DHESTBT, etc. Many of the full time teachers are registered as independent Ph.D. supervisor in the Department of Microbiology, University of Calcutta. 



Dr. Prasenjit Das
Dr. Saswati Gayen
Dr. Sampa Debnath
Dr. Gargi Saha Kesh
Dr. Shilajit Barua
Dr. Arun Roy
Sri Pinaki Hazra
Smt. Sahana Ghosh
Dr. Surajit Bag
Dr. Sudip Samadder